Sarpy Badge

General Overview

The Sarpy County Sheriff's Office, headed by Sheriff Jeff Davis, is located in Papillion, Nebraska. The organization of the office is comprised of the Sheriff, the Chief Deputy, who is next in the chain of command, followed by Division Captains, Lieutenants, Sergeants, Corporals, and Deputies. Civilian staff are assigned to the various areas of the office's divisions and units. The civilian staff includes booking clerks, vehicle inspectors, court security entry officers, juvenile center staff, support staff, tow lot operators, evidence and property technicians and technical support. The Sarpy County Sheriff's Office staff are assigned in an organizational structure which includes the Road Patrol, Jail, Investigative, Support Services and Administrative Divisions.

The Road Patrol Division responds to calls for assistance, crime prevention and traffic control. The Jail  Division has civilian and sworn personnel assigned who run the operation of the county's correctional facility. The Investigations Division staff are assigned to follow up on crimes against persons and property, drug investigations, maintain evidence and property and perform polygraphs. The Support Services Division includes court security and transportation, juvenile services and the warrants unit. The Administrative Division oversees the overall operation of the office and the units within the Administration, which includes Staff Support, Training, Civil Process, Vehicle Inspection, Impound Lot, Crime Prevention and Technical Support Services.

Our County and Our Office

Sarpy County is located approximately mid-way on the eastern Nebraska border and is surrounded by the Platte River to the west and south, and the Missouri River to the east. Sarpy County is just minutes south of Nebraska’s largest city, Omaha, and  includes the cities of Bellevue, Papillion, La Vista, Gretna, Springfield, as well as Offutt Air Force Base.  While Sarpy County is the smallest county in the State of Nebraska with only 241 sq. miles, it has the third largest population with the latest census listed county’s population estimate in 2013 at 169,331. 

Sarpy County is an ideal community to raise a family with its small town charm yet large city appeal.  Community attractions include Werner Baseball Park, home to the Omaha Storm Chasers Triple-A Minor League Baseball team, Fontenelle Forest Nature Center, Chalco Hills and Walnut Creek Lake Recreation Parks, historic Olde Towne Bellevue and several shopping centers, golf courses, bike trails, amphitheater and vineyard.  Several prominent businesses call Sarpy County home; Pay Pal, Cabela’s, Omaha Steaks, ShopKo Distribution Center, Claas of America, Yahoo and Werner Enterprises, to name of few.

No matter where you reside in Sarpy County you are just a short drive to many attractions, including the world renowned Henry Doorly Zoo, the historic Old Market, the nations longest pedestrian bridge, several walking/biking trails, Loess Hills, SAC Museum, Boys Town, Joslyn Art Museum, Mahoney State Park, Lauritzen Botanical Gardens, and Wildlife Safari Park.  The Holland Performing Arts Center, Qwest Center Omaha, Mid-America Center, and the Omaha Civic Auditorium are venues that host several activities including; hockey, indoor football, major concerts, conventions, basketball, volleyball, wrestling, College World Series and host of the Olympic Swim Trials. 

The Sarpy County area is also known for its excellent schools system.  Many learning institutions exist from pre-kindergarten through higher education entities such as; Creighton University, University of Nebraska-Omaha, Bellevue University, Nebraska Christian College and Metropolitan Community College.

The Sarpy County Sheriff’s Office is a full service sheriff’s office and the largest in Nebraska, employing 132 sworn deputies and 100 non-sworn personnel.  There are many divisions which allow for a variety of diverse duties including road patrol, jail, courts services, civil process, investigations, DARE/GREAT, student resource officers, narcotics, transportation, work release/house arrest, and training.  The road patrol and jail are the largest of the divisions and deputies working in these areas have the opportunity to become well rounded in the law enforcement community.  The Sarpy County Sheriff’s Office also has several specialty units such as Emergency Services Unit, Search and Rescue Unit, K-9, Bike Patrol, Critical Incident Negotiators, Field Force Team, and the Mobile Command Post. These units allow for personnel to expand their duties.

Our Mission:   “Community Peace Through Law”

For more information, see the Sarpy County Tourism web site and the Sarpy County Chamber of Commerce web site.

Our Command Staff Bios

Sheriff Jeff Davis
Chief Deputy Greg London
Captain Chris Culler
Captain Dan Shukis
Captain Monty Daganaar
Captain Kevin Griger
Captain Brian Richards

Our Facilities

Sarpy County Sheriff's Office
Sarpy County Jail
Patrick J. Thomas Juvenile Justice Center
Sarpy County Impound Lot
Sarpy County Vehicle Inspection Office

Our Auxiliary Units

Crisis Negotiations Unit (CNU)
Emergency Services Unit (ESU)
Field Force Unit
K9 Unit
Honor Guard
Bike Patrol
Crash Response Team

Start of Page

Error processing SSI file